Paradise Will Be – The Delerium Trees 2018

The Delerium Trees are Drew Jarvie, founding member, songwriter, vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, and Steve Barker, guitarist/producer. Their debut album, Paradise Will Be, explores the themes of hope, despair, loneliness, dreams, religion and politics.

Drew formed the Trees after Perfect Stranger split up in 2001. He has created a unique soundscape based on his brass band and classical training, combined with various rock styles from his musical travels. Through the years, he has appeared with Nazareth, Huw Lloyd-Langton (Hawkwind), Then Jerico, Man and most recently Gavin Sutherland, providing the brass on several albums. Steve has mainly played for local bands in the North East of Scotland.

Swimming With The Ghost Angels – The Delerium Trees 2019

Swimming With The Ghost Angels continues some of the themes explored in the Paradise Will Be album. Six of the songs have vocals, whilst five tracks are instrumentals.

Joining Drew, on guitars for these tracks is Jack Fox, who adds his own style to proceedings, having mainly played with heavy metal bands. In a change of direction, this is his first album appearance.

The album was recorded at Crackerbox Palace, Turriff and ARC Studios, Mintlaw, Aberdeenshire in early 2019. Heitor Alves mixed and mastered the album. Drew has recorded many times at the ARC Studios, most notably with Gavin Sutherland, John Mackie, the Aden Park Brass Band and Sandy Bain.

Underneath This Sun – The Delerium Trees 2020

Underneath This Sun is a 5 track EP which has a lighter mood than it’s album predecessor ‘Swimming With The Ghost Angels’. Catchy2020, an old song rewritten (for the Sound of Spitfire’s 2nd birthday) and Underneath This Sun are happy songs. America, by Leonard Bernstein, contains the original melodies with variations composed by Drew Jarvie. This came about after a conversation with Chris Hyde (Sound of Spitfire) who challenged Drew to come up with a different version. Everywhere is an electronica song dealing with Green issues and Behind The Sun, sees the Trees return to familiar political territory with an upbeat song.

Recorded entirely at Crackerbox Palace, the EP has much more brass involvement which is likely to continue with further releases. Much thanks to Heitor Alves (ARC Studios) for mixing and production, Zandra Tiitso for her wonderful photograph of the sun and Birnam CD for all of their hard work.